• Historical Fiction
  • General Fiction and Women Writers
  • YA Fiction
  • Suspense and Thrillers
  • Memoirs and Non Fiction
  • Classics and Mashups

Monday, April 14, 2014

"Days of Blood and Starlight" by Laini Taylor

 
 
SUMMARY :
Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.


This is not that world.


Art student and monster's apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she'll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?


ABOUT THE BOOK :
Published by:  Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages:  544
Genre:  Fantasy
Author:  Laini Taylor
Series:  Daughter of Smoke and Bones #2
Author's website is www.lainitaylor.com
Purchase this book:  Barnes & Noble  and  Amazon



ABOUT THE AUTHOR :

Laini Taylor is the New York Times bestselling author of Days of Blood & Starlight, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, the Dreamdark books Blackbringer and Silksinger, and the National Book Award finalist Lips Touch: Three Times. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband, illustrator Jim Di Bartolo, and their daughter, Clementine.


An Award-Winning Trailer for "Days of Blood & Starlight"



 
 
THE BOOKISH DAME REVIEWS :
Not having read the "Daughter of Smoke and Bone" all the way through puts me at a disadvantage to review this sequel.  I decided to try it, however, because I had heard such accolades about Laini Taylor and her writing style.  I have to tell you this book was a mixed bag for me. 
 
I thoroughly enjoyed her world-building and her prose in places.  Although the density of her lovely prose was just overwhelming at times and diminished her story.  I wanted more about the angelic beings to be described and thought I'd probably missed out on that in the first book.
 
Her main characters were engaging and beautifully created so that they held my attention throughout.
Absolutely a book of strong characters, but I don't think the story befits them.  It's a book of beautiful descriptions of places and magical things, but I don't think the story itself is particularly moving.  Probably because I'm not much on demons and battles...and the love story got lost for me.
 
I suspect this is a great sequel to those young readers who loved "Daughter of Smoke and Bones," however. It had all the makings of being that kind of book.  So, if you're one who would like to start a new series, I would say go for this one, but start from the beginning.  It's gotten rave reviews from those who are familiar with the series.
 
I would give it a 4 stars for one who hasn't read the first book, but who finds magical prose and angelic beings interesting. And, I do like the way Ms Taylor writes. Laini leaves a cliff hanger at the end that portends the third book in the series for all her many fans.
 
4 stars                             Deborah/TheBookishDame
 

 

16 comments:

Alami Aman

Very nice article Obat Alami Kanker Leher

Rahim
| Obat Alami Demam

Berdarah
| Obat Alami Liver | Obat Alami

Tuberkulosis
| Obat Alami Epilepsi |

Obat Alami Diabetes |

Obat Alami Perut

Kembung
| Obat Alami Kencing

Manis
| Obat Alami Hepatitis B

| Obat Alami Darah

Tinggi
| Obat Alami Asam

Lambung
| Obat Alami Batu

Empedu
| Obat Alami Kencing

Batu
| Obat Alami Sinusitis |

Obat Alami Kolesterol |

Obat Alami Ayan | Obat Alami Radang

Sendi
| Obat Alami Kanker

Rahim
| Obat Alami Hepatitis A

| Obat Alami Gula

Darah
| Obat Alami Batu Ginjal |

Obat Alami Radang Paru

Paru
| Obat Alami Miom | Obat Alami Maag Akut

| Obat Alami Maag

Kronis
| Obat Alami Kista

Ovarium
| Obat Alami Hepatitis |

Obat Alami Asma | Obat Alami Asam Urat

Dhe Basith

informasinya sangat bermanfaat dan saya mohon ijin untuk menambahkan Link Saya di artikel Suami , Sukses Terus admin Obat batuk Kronis Berdarah

Pengobatan herbal14

very interesting article , other articles awaited :)Pengobatan Kista Ovarium Tanpa Operasi

Pengobatan herbal14

very interesting article , other articles awaited :) Pengobatan Kista Ovarium Tanpa Operasi

Alami Aman

nice post Obat Penyakit Tipes

Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Nyeri Otot

Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Nyeri Sendi

Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Kanker

Leher Rahim Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Demam

Berdarah Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Perut

Kembung Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Liver

Herbal
| Obat Penyakit

Tuberkulosis Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Epilepsi

Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Diabetes

Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Kencing

Manis Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Hepatitis B

Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Darah Tinggi

Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Asam

Lambung Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Batu Empedu

Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Kencing

Batu Tradisional
| Obat Penyakit Sinusitis

Herbal
| Obat Penyakit Kolesterol

Tradisional

Alami Aman

Very good blog Obat Alami Infeksi

Pencernaan
| Obat Alami Tipes | Obat Alami Nyeri Otot |

Obat AlamiNyeri Sendi

| Obat Alami Kanker Leher

Rahim
| Obat Alami Demam

Berdarah
| Obat Alami Liver | Obat Alami

Tuberkulosis
| Obat Alami Epilepsi |

Obat Alami Diabetes |

Obat Alami Perut

Kembung
| Obat Alami Kencing

Manis
| Obat Alami Hepatitis B

| Obat Alami Darah

Tinggi
| Obat Alami Asam

Lambung
| Obat Alami Batu

Empedu
| Obat Alami Kencing

Batu
| Obat Alami Sinusitis |

Obat Alami Kolesterol |

Obat Alami Ayan | Obat Alami Radang

Sendi
| Obat Alami Kanker

Rahim
| Obat Alami Hepatitis A

Alami Aman

Very interesting article Obat Penyakit Infeksi Usus Herbal

Alami Aman

very amazing Obat Alami Infeksi Lambung

Alami Aman

i like it, success Obat Penyakit Infeksi Lambung Tradisional

Alami Aman

very beautiful Obat Alami Infeksi Paru Paru

Alami Aman

It is interesting to note, thank you very much
If you're looking for a traditional medicine with herbal ingredients are safe and natural, please visit the our blog this
once again, thank you so much
Tanaman Herbal Untuk Mengobati Asam Urat

Alami Aman

Obat Penyakit Leptospirosis Herbal
Obat Penyakit Cangkroid Herbal
Obat Penyakit Psoriasis Tradisional
Tanaman Herbal Untuk Mengobati Asam Urat

Alami Aman

Obat Alami Insomnia
Obat Alami Limfoma
Obat Alami Hernia
Obat Alami Parotitis

Alami Aman

This is a excellent article I have ever seen, the delivery and presentation was complete. Very nice to be listened to. Thank you very much for sharing
Obat Alami Keputihan Abnormal
Obat Alami Scabies
Obat Alami Vaginitis
Obat Alami Untuk Menghilangkan Nikotin Rokok Pada Paru-Paru
Herbal Alami

Alami Aman

Thanks for the information in this morning, good luck and always endowed
Cara Mendapatkan Kulit Putih Merona
Pusat Glucolife
Jual Glucolife
Glucolife Murah
Cara Meningkatkan Gairah Seksual
Cara Melangsingkan Tubuh Secara Alami Dan Cepat
Tips Agar Kuat Di Atas Ranjang
Cara Mengatasi Penis Loyo
Obat Lemah Syahwat Paling Tokcer
Cara Menjaga Tubuh Agar Tetap Langsing Ideal
Obat Pelangsing Badan Terlaris
Solusi Menurunkan Berat Badan Dengan Cepat
Cara Melangsingkan Badan Dengan Obat Pelangsing Alami
Obat Pelangsing Tubuh Alami

Alami Aman

Obat Alami Ataksia
Obat Alami Lipoma
Obat Alami Pembuluh Darah Pecah
Obat Alami Sakit Tulang Ekor
Obat Alami Beser
Obat Alami Emboli Paru
Obat Alami Kardiomiopati
Obat Alami Dakriosistitis
Obat Alami Albino
Obat Alami Mengik
Obat Alami Nefritis
Obat Alami Xerostomia
Obat Alami Aritmia Jantung
Obat Alami Hepatoma
Obat Alami Keputihan Abnormal
Obat Alami Scabies
Obat Alami Vaginitis
Obat Alami Untuk Menghilangkan Nikotin Rokok Pada Paru-Paru

Share your thoughts!

Blogaholic Designs”=