• Historical Fiction
  • General Fiction and Women Writers
  • YA Fiction
  • Suspense and Thrillers
  • Memoirs and Non Fiction
  • Classics and Mashups

Monday, October 21, 2013

Book Haul: Finishing Up from Last Couple of Weeks...

This represents a scramble of books I received a couple of weeks ago and just didn't get a chance to write about last week.  Quick blurbs and I'm off to the next batch!

1)  Pilgrim's Wilderness~A True Story of Faith and Madness in the Alaska Frontier by Tom Kizzia.

     Inside Cover:

 "Into the Wild" meets "Helter Skelter" in this riveting true story of a modern-day homesteading family in the deepest reaches of the Alaskan wilderness--and of the chilling secrets of its maniacal, spellbinding patriarch."

I couldn't resist this one...with thanks to Crown Publishing.

2)  Love Waltzes In" by Alana Albertson

Summary:  "With the rising popularity of dance-related reality shows like Dancing with the Stars and So You Think You Can Dance, the real world of competitive dance is still much of a mystery.  Novelist and former competitive ballroom dancer Alana Albertson pulls back the curtain and exposes the sex, lies and secrets that remain hidden behind the glitzy costumes and fast moves in her award-winning debut novel... (Bolero Books, November 2013)

WoooHooo!  Can't wait to read this one.  So appreciate to Bolero Books for sending this one to me!

3)  Isabella, Braveheart of France by Colin Falconer

Cover Story:

"12 year old Isabella, a French princess marries the King of England (Edward II) -- only to discover he has a terrible secret.  Ten long years later she in utter despair -- does she submit to a lifetime of solitude and a spiritual death -- or seize her destiny and take the throne of England for herself?"  In the tradition of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick...

Many thanks to the author and his publisher for the opportunity to review this book!

4)  Secrets for Seducing a Royal Bodyguard (The Renegade Royals) by Vanessa Kelly

Summary :

"Accomplished spy Aden St. James prefers to stay away from the frivolous ton, especially after the way his mother was used by the Prince Regent.  But his latest mission compels him to guard unconventional, vibrant Lady Vivien Shaw.  Rescuing her from kidnappers was easy.  Resisting her beauty is not.  Duty demands he keep an eye on her--and naturally, his lips soon follow.  For someone who views entanglements as a weakness, this is pure, delicious folly."

A new series set in Regency England...introducing The Renegade Royals.   With much appreciation to Kensington Publishing for this little book.  A new adventure for me.  :]

5)  The Seventh Victim  and  No Escape by Mary Burton

Quick notes:

"The Seventh Victim" --  ...Austin-based Texas Rangers are confronted with multiple murders in The Seventh Victim.  "Dark and disturbing, a well-written tale of obsession and murder" ~ Kat Martin, New York Times bestselling author

"No Escape" -- ..."Even behind bars, serial killer Harvey Day Smith exudes menace.  Psychologist Jolene Granger has agreed to hear his dying confession, vowing not to let the monster inside her head.  And Harvey has secrets to share--about bodies that were never found, and about the apprentice who is continuing his grisly work..."

Wow!!!  Scary!!  Halloween coming up!  I can't wait to jump into these two!  Thanks Kensington Publishing!

NOW...I'm caught up.  But I have another huge stack which came in this past week which I'll have to get to next Sunday.  I'm not complaining, just reading to beat the band.

Wish we lived nearby and I could share with you.  My neighbors are enjoying my already "reads."

Let me know what's in your book haul this past couple of weeks.



Share your thoughts!

Blogaholic Designs”=