• Historical Fiction
  • General Fiction and Women Writers
  • YA Fiction
  • Suspense and Thrillers
  • Memoirs and Non Fiction
  • Classics and Mashups

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Another Book Haul~Mostly My Own Purchases!

Book Haul in chair but my books runneth over right now, happily.  I think this is a combination of my striking out on my own buying books for myself, and also Fall being a time when publishers like to get new authors' books out there for Christmas sales.  I'm going to do my best to review these for you so you'll have some ideas for the holidays.  I'm in love with this bunch!

First, I can't help starting with a few of my own purchases:

Quick summary~ 

It is the year 2059. Several major world cities are under the control of a security force called Scion. Paige Mahoney works in the criminal underworld of Scion London, part of a secret cell known as the Seven Seals. The work she does is unusual: scouting for information by breaking into others’ minds. Paige is a dreamwalker, a rare kind of clairvoyant, and in this world, the voyants commit treason simply by breathing...

I had to have this book because it's a dystopian, which I love, and it has a female, tough protagonist!
Lots of hype about it, too.  Love the cover.

Published by Bloomsbury USA    
Purchase here:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-bone-season-samantha-shannon/1114205463?ean=9781620401392

This is not the hard cover copy which came in the mail to me, but the new soft cover volume of the novel.  Nevertheless, "The Twelve" is the sequel to "Passages" which I just reviewed this month with flying colors.  I had to have this as the continuation of the survivors of the apocalypse story.
Published by Random House.  Here's a buying link:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-twelve-justin-cronin/1107957553?ean=9780345504999


Quick Overview: 

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. Not for her license -- for turning pretty. In Tally's world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time...
I've been hearing about this series for a very long time.  Dystopian, of course, where children are given plastic surgery to turn them into pretties..but their fates take a bad turn afterwards.  I'm looking forward to this read.  There's a box set which I may get if this first book proves good.  May be a Halloween week read for me!
Published by:  Simon Pulse
Fine.  You can see I'm into the apocalyptic, dystopian, alien books nowadays!  This one is a YA cross over, I believe.  Here's the blurb:

In this heart-stopping postapocalyptic thriller from debut author Demitria Lunetta, one courageous girl must navigate a world that has been overtaken by Them—vile creatures that are rapidly devouring mankind. Perfect for fans of books like Marie Lu's Legend, In the After examines a harrowing place where day-to-day survival is never guaranteed. . . .
In what seems like an instant, Amy Harris's life is changed forever. They arrive and quickly begin killing off humanity one by one...

Published by:  Harper Collins
You can purchase it here:   http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/in-the-after-demitria-lunetta/1113200552?ean=9780062105455


I'm into such books after having read the recent Nelson DeMille book, I guess, although this one is very different.  Here's the blurb below.  I find it also interesting because it's a series under "A Sigma Force Novel."  Love series novels...

Immortality is not just within our reach—it is already here.

Galilee, 1025. A Templar knight uncovers a holy treasure, a priceless icon that holds a mysterious and terrifying power that promises to change humankind forever.
A millennium later, Somali pirates hijack a yacht, kidnapping a young pregnant American woman. Commander Gray Pierce is enlisted for a covert rescue mission. Suspicious that the kidnapping masks a more nefarious plot, Gray must confront a shadowy cabal that has manipulated events throughout history.

Published by:  Harper Collins
Purchase here:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bloodline-james-rollins/1107443147?ean=9780062257161

OHMG, this one is creepy and a horror story.  You know I never read this type of book but everyone is recommending it to me, so I went there!  I've started it and find it very Stephen Kingish.  I actually think I'm going to like it as a scary story between now and Christmas, believe it of not.  I keep going back to read bits of it.  Here's a quote by one of my favorite thriller authors:

Michael Koryta
"Quite simply the best horror writer of our generation, Joe Hill’s masterful storytelling is on full display in NOS4A2. It is by turns terrifying and hilarious, horrifying and full of heart, and relentlessly compelling."
Great recommendation as far as I'm concerned.  Anyone want to try it with me and let me know what they think?

Published by:  Harper Collins
Purchase here:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/nos4a2-joe-hill/1113200611?ean=9780062200587

Actually, I was drawn to this one because it was on the new novel table at Booksamillion and because it was touted as a new version inspired by "Rebecca."  I loved the book "Rebecca" by Daphne du Maurei's so I am anxious to give this one a chance.  Sounds good and the cover is just beautiful.  It's also supposed to be a Southern gothic which I can never resist!

Here's a mini blurb:

When Helen Honeycutt falls in love with Emmet Justice, a charismatic television journalist who has recently lost his wife in a tragic accident, their sudden marriage creates a rift between her new husband and his oldest friends, who resent Helen’s intrusion into their tightly knit circle. Hoping to mend fences, the newlyweds join the group for a summer at his late wife’s family home in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Helen soon falls under the spell not only of the little mountain town and its inhabitants, but also of Moonrise, her predecessor’s Victorian mansion, named for its unique but now sadly neglected nocturnal gardens. But the harder Helen tries to fit in, the more obvious it is that she will never measure up to the woman she replaced...

Published by:  Maiden Lane Press
Purchase this one here:   http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/moonrise-cassandra-king/1113785621?ean=9781940210001


With high-tension suspense and cutting-edge technology, Patricia Cornwell—the world’s #1 bestselling crime writer—once again proves her exceptional ability to entertain and enthrall in this remarkable novel featuring chief medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta.

On her quest to find out exactly what happened to her former deputy chief, Jack Fielding, murdered six months before, Scarpetta drives to the Georgia Prison for Women to meet a convicted sex offender and the mother of a vicious and diabolically brilliant killer. Against the advice of her FBI criminal intelligence agent husband, Benton Wesley, Scarpetta is determined to hear this woman out.

Scarpetta series #19... I may have this one already in my stacks but I can't find it.  I'm a sucker for Patricia Cornwell.  She's my favorite female author of suspense/thrillers.  So when I saw this one, had to have it quickly.  I particularly like that she has to rely upon a mother of the diabolical killer...mothers always think their "babies" couldn't commit heinous crimes.  Let's see how this one goes!!


TOP 4 FAVORITE CONTEMPORARY AUTHOR!!!!  I die when I hear he's written another book.  Wally Lamb can't write a bad story...   I've only read the first chapter because I couldn't help myself.  I'm reading 4 books simultaneously right now and I don't want to spoil any of them so I'm moving carefully...   I know this is going to be one of the best.   LOVE, Love Wally Lamb!!!  The cover is raised in spots and is just gorgeously painted like a watercolor.

Published by:  Harper Collins
Purchase:   http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/we-are-water-wally-lamb/1114298558?ean=9780061941023

Last, but not least by any means:

This is a book highly recommended by my YA bookish friends.  They literally can't say enough about the book and the author, Patrick Ness.  Another post apocalypse novel with a strange twist...  This is the first in a series.

Overview:   Todd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him — something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn't she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd's gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is.

Published by:  Candlewick Press
Find the book here:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/knife-of-never-letting-go-patrick-ness/1100306233?ean=9780763645762

This is my little Yorkie, Clara wondering why I'm not sitting in my chair reading.  I put my quilt over me and she sits on top of it while I read.  We have a system going.  You can barely see the stacks by my chair.  Did I tell you I also make quilts for a hobby when I'm not reading? And, I've just taken up riding my bike at night because I'm getting too sedentary reading all these books every day and night!!


"The Goldfinch" by Donna Tartt
"The Funeral Dress" by Susan Gregg Gilmore
"We Are Water" by Wally Lamb
"Nos42" by Joe Hill
"NightFilm" by M. Pessl

Please let me know what you're reading and which of my books above you like...  :]   Other books pictured above will show up in my next Book Haul...




Enjoy your new books and snuggling with Clara! She's a cutie!

Share your thoughts!

Blogaholic Designs”=