• Historical Fiction
  • General Fiction and Women Writers
  • YA Fiction
  • Suspense and Thrillers
  • Memoirs and Non Fiction
  • Classics and Mashups

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

"The 5th Wave" by Rick Yancey~ Astonishing Must Read!!

SUMMARY :


"Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances."—Entertainment Weekly (Grade A)
The Passage meets Ender's Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.
Now, it's the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie's only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

"Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough."—Justin Cronin, The New York Times Book Review

"A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . . should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires."—USAToday.com


PARTICULARS OF THE BOOK :
Published by:  Penguins Young Readers Group
Pages:  480
Genre:  Alien Invasion/Sci-Fy
YA Fiction/Crossover for Adults
Author:  Rick Yancy
Website:  http://www.rickyancey.com


ABOUT THE AUTHOR :

Rick Yancey (http://www.rickyancey.com) is the author of several adult novels and the memoir Confessions of a Tax Collector. His first young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel, The Monstrumologist, received Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. When he isn't writing or thinking about writing or traveling the country talking about writing, Rick is hanging out with his family.


 

Some video of the book!!



THE BOOKISH DAME REVIEWS :

Every so often I pop into YouTube to see what the YA group is reading.  In the last couple of months I found that an inordinate amount of them were reading "The 5th Wave."  I had to get the book to find out what the storm was about.  When the majority of them are raising their hands and raving about a book...in the vein of "Hunger Games" and "Divergent..."  I pay attention.  I'm so glad I took the chance on this one.  It's a one-of-a-kind read for the YAs right now and a great crossover fiction for adults, too. 

Rick Yancey isn't an author I'm familiar with, but I'll be waiting for his next book, I can tell you.  He has a way with words that kept me on the edge of my seat.  His plot was well devised, and his development of characters was breath-taking.  I found myself relating to Cassie immediately as she wondered if she was the last human alive to fight the battle against an alien invasion.  Her courage and humanity was palpable.  Great characters ran throughout the novel; too many to list.  Suffice it to say you'll love them all.  Even the aliens were engaging in their own ways, and to say more about this would give away too much!

This is a novel unlike any I've read about aliens and human interaction, and I've read a few.  Easy to read and understand, for one.  I had no trouble featuring just what Yancey meant throughout the book.  It was horrifying at times, immensely touching at others, and filled with action and suspense.

As the book drove to the climax, I was riveted.  I found myself reading faster and faster to get to the conclusion.  And, I wasn't disappointed.  This is an extraordinary book that will hold your attention throughout and capture your imagination.  I felt it could all happen to us without a doubt.

Highly recommended.

5 stars                 Deborah/TheBookishDame






4 comments:

Jahid Hasan

The grandfather by Don fabio
The Grandfather, Don Pacio Luciano, a reasonable, honourable man of integrity had sought justice after the deadly attacks on his family by suspected members of the notorious Sicilian Cosa Nostra. This is an outstanding story of love, honour, vengeance and astonishing revelation of the secret operations......
Buy from Here:>> http://www.amazon.com/The-Grandfather-Don-Fabio/dp/1492717525

Mariz Denver
This comment has been removed by the author.
Mariz Denver
This comment has been removed by the author.
Penelope Sanchez

I finished this book a week ago and still can't stop thinking about it. In fact, before I handed it off to a friend, I had to go back and read all my favorite parts one last time. The writing is amazing, the pacing is incredible, the tension is unbearable. It's going to be nearly impossible to wait for the next one!

Penelope
click here

Share your thoughts!

Blogaholic Designs”=