• Historical Fiction
  • General Fiction and Women Writers
  • YA Fiction
  • Suspense and Thrillers
  • Memoirs and Non Fiction
  • Classics and Mashups

Saturday, October 13, 2012

"How Lucky You Are" by Kristyn Kusek Lewis~Friends for Life!


In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, HOW LUCKY YOU ARE is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their longstanding friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next governor of Virginia, but the larger questions brewing in their future are unsettling her. Stay-at-home mom Amy has a perfect life on paper, but as the horrific secret she's keeping from her friends threatens to reveal itself, she panics.
As life's pressures build all around them, Waverly knows she has some big decisions to make. In doing so, she will discover that the lines between loyalty and betrayal can become blurred, happy endings aren't always clear-cut, and sometimes you have to risk everything to gain the life you deserve.

Published by:  Grand Central Publishing/Hachette
Pages:  352
Genre:  General Fiction
Author  Kristyn Kusek Lewis
Purchase this book:    Barnes & Noble  and Amazon


It's been a long time since I've read a novel about three long time friends who've remained close throughout their lives.  This one was a pleasure to read.  Absorbing and poignant.  I found Kristyn Kusek Lewis to be a storyteller of the first order.  She's wrapped her hands around the feminine capacity to love, become devoted and to sustain long term relationships with other women.  I enjoyed her sharing of this treasured capacity women have.

The plot here is one that flows easily.  It pulls you into the lives of the three friends immediately and carries through without a boring moment.  As their situations become more fierce and embroiled, and their pulling in ranks to support each other becomes more defined, the reader is more and more engaged.  I found this a strong story of the real problems women can encounter in their contemporary lives, and of the support it can take that matters in the resolution of those problems.  All this and pure reading entertainment at the same time!

I fell in love with the three main characters: Amy, Waverly and Kate.  All very different women with different lives and issues, but bonded in their commitment to and friendship for each other since college days.  These characters are so well developed they rang true in every situation and conversation.   Waverly, the problem-solver seeing everyone else's way out except her own; Amy the perfect homemaker with the horrible secrets; and Kate the wealthy and beautiful "it" girl with emptiness all around her...all were inspiring in their own ways.  The title of the book makes us wonder if they were all truly "lucky."

This is a book women will enjoy reading.  While it's not a deep well of literature, it has much to say about humanity and every day living.  It  has much to say about sorting out the problems of real situations we encounter as women.  And, it highlights the things we value so much in our friendships as women.

4 stars                   Deborah/TheBookishDame



This sounds like my kind of book!

Share your thoughts!

Blogaholic Designs”=